Level 1 Dementia Awareness

The Dementia Awareness course enhances dementia care by providing caregivers with a holistic approach and boosting their confidence in caring for individuals with this condition.

Course Summary

The Dementia Awareness course has been designed to help improve the care for those who have dementia by teaching caregivers more about the holistic view of caring for someone with dementia and feeling more confident about caring for someone with the condition.

The course covers all aspects of dementia, including the symptoms to look out for, information on how dementia is diagnosed and tips for adaptations you can make to the person’s home and lifestyle in order to make everyday living easier.


Enquire for price


Half Day.


de Carteret House, 7 Castle Street, St Helier, JE2 3BT. This course is also available via distance learning.


  • Knowledge on how to improve the care delivered to people with dementia
  • Knowledge on how to support relationships of people with dementia
  • Understanding of the reasons for behaviour we may find difficult
  • Knowledge of the different types of dementia
  • Knowledge of what it may be like to have dementia, etc.
  • Certification


A Level 1 national qualification will be issued to the learner, subject to successfully completing the test paper.


A summative question paper will be given out at the end of the course.


A minimum of 8 students and a maximum of 12 students are allowed to enrol on this course. Students must be a minimum of 14 years of age. A certificate can be offered to all, subject to assessment.


Did You Know?

  • ‘Dementia is the leading cause of disability and dependency among the elderly.’
  • ‘Dementia is caused by damage too or loss of nerve cells and their connections in the brain.’
  • ‘There is currently no “cure” for dementia.’
  • ‘Someone in the world develops dementia every 3 seconds.’
  • ‘Dementia is more common in people over the age of 65, but in some cases, it can also affect people in childhood and people in their 30s, 40s, or 50s.’
  • ‘There are 5 types of dementia’